WCPE News: Press Releases

Media Contact:
Curtis Brothers, Outreach Director
phone: (919) 556-5178
fax: (919) 556-9273
e-mail: curtis@theclassicalstation.org

WCPE Celebrates Thirty Five Years

TheClassicalStation.org First Aired July 18. 1978

Wake Forest, N.C. (July 16, 2013) — WCPE Music Director William Woltz announces a celebration of WCPE’s 35th anniversary on Thursday, July 18, 2013. TheClassicalStation.org went on the air on that day in 1978.

“Simply put, lots of great music to celebrate that day when WCPE first went on the air,” offers Woltz.

Highlights of the celebration:

  • 7:00 a.m.
    Grieg: In the Hall of the Mountain King
    Vivaldi: Spring from the Four Seasons
    Holst: Jupiter, The Bringer of Jollity
    Shostakovich: Festive Overture

  • 8:00 a.m.
    Fucik: Florentine March
    Strauss Jr.: Voices of Spring Waltz
    Handel: Music for the Royal Fireworks

  • 9:00 a.m.
    Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B flat
    Brahms: Double Concerto for Violin & Cello in A minor

  • 10:00 a.m.
    Beethoven: Piano Sonata No. 17 in D minor, "Tempest"

  • 11:00 a.m.
    Schumann: Symphony No. 3 in E flat, "Rhenish"

  • 12:00 p.m.
    Ravel: Pavane for a Dead Princess
    Alfven: Swedish Rhapsody No. 1, "Midsummer Vigil"
    Dvorak: Largo from Symphony No. 9 in E minor, "From the New World"

  • 1:00 p.m.
    Rachmaninoff: Piano Concerto No. 2 in C minor
    Bruch: Violin Concerto No. 1 in G minor

  • 2:00 p.m.
    Beethoven: Symphony No. 2 in D
    Respighi: The Pines of Rome

  • 3:00 p.m.
    Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3 in C minor, "Organ"

  • 4:00 p.m.
    Fucik: The Old Grumbler
    Tchaikovsky: Four Dances from The Nutcracker
    Chabrier: Espana
    Mozart: 1st Allegro from Serenade No. 13 in G, "Eine kleine Nachtmusik"
    Berlioz: Dream of a Witches' Sabbath from Symphonie fantastique

  • 5:00 p.m.
    Ravel: Menuet Antique
    Haydn: Finale from Trumpet Concerto in E flat
    Mussorgsky: Baba Yaga and the Great Gate of Kiev from Pictures at an Exhibition
    Beethoven: Rondo from Piano Concerto No. 5 In E flat, "Emperor"

  • 6:00 p.m.
    Saint-Saëns: The Swan
    Tchaikovsky: National Dances from Act III, Swan Lake
    Mozart: Andante from Piano Concerto No. 21 in C
    Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg: Prelude, Act 1

  • 7:00 p.m.
    WCPE Opera House: Bellini, I Capuleti e i Montecchi

  • 10:00 p.m.
    Saint-Saëns: Havanaise
    Barber: Agnus Dei
    Ravel: Gaspard de la nuit

  • 11:00 p.m.
    Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme of Thomas Tallis

“The Organ Symphony was the first piece of classical music aired,” adds Woltz.

WCPE’s 24/7 live broadcast of Great Classical Music, 24 Hours A Day can be accessed by military and foreign service personnel around the globe in several ways; on-line streaming in multiple formats, including IPv6, small dish home satellite reception, local cable television systems and traditional radio broadcasting. A complete list of the ways WCPE is available with instructions for cable and satellite reception can be found at: http://theclassicalstation.org/listen.shtml.

About WCPE:

With a 30 plus year history, WCPE 89.7 FM is a non-commercial, 100 percent listener-supported, independent station dedicated to excellence in Great Classical Music broadcasting. WCPE is heard worldwide on the Internet in multiple formats, including the next generation IPv6. Because WCPE receives no tax-derived support, the station conducts two on-air fundraising campaigns and two major mail-out campaigns per year to raise needed operating funds. For more information, visit www.TheClassicalStation.org or call 919-556-5178.

↑ Back to Top